top of page

A Voyage of Hope

I am voyaging on the UTO NI YALO with the hope of sharing our messages of Climate Change, Wildlife Conservation and Mental Health across the Bligh Waters to Koro, Makogai, Ovalau and Kubulau. Let me rewind back and tell you about my day!

Pic: The Uto Ni Yalo, a Fijian Vaka(canoe)

Today was Day 1 of the trip. I was only informed of the trip the evening before I was to travel. I could never turn down the trip as it is on my never ending list of bucket wishes. How much I looked forward to this trip, I was an hour early at the meeting spot where I planned to meet my mentor. There were two of us representing the Youth Champs for Mental Health Team on-board the UTO NI YALO. For us, this trip was about hope and resilience building through awareness raising, education and advocacy on mental health and linking it with marine conservation and climate change impact on health and well-being.

The trip started off from Wildlife Conservation Society Office, then to Bau Landing where we boarded a boat to Leleuvia Island Resort. We had to make our way to Leleuvia as the Uto-Ni Yalo was berthed there. On the way to Leleuvia we came across an island that struck me. It was a small island included in the Bau Group of Islands. This small island serves a very important part of Fiji’s tradition and history. Before when ancestors passed this small island to go to Bau Island, the chiefs had to get off and to take off their title. Say for example if the Tui Cakaudrove has to go through these waters to go to Bau Island, he has to get off at this small island “take off his title” through means of traditional ceremony. So that means, the chiefs enter Bau without a title and they are no longer chiefs. Only the high chief of Bau doesn’t have to perform this. This is how sacred Bau Island is.

Pic: The small island which the chiefs have to take off their titles before entering Bau Island.

We are now on Leleuvia Island Resort. We will be on this island for another day before we set sail across the Bligh waters on Sunday Morning. This Island Resort in my opinion is paving the way for most tourism industry in terms of climate action. On this Island Plastic Bags are not allowed. If you go around the Island, I can assure you there will be no plastics on the beach or anywhere else. Nearly the entire island resort is powered by Solar panels. They are definitely going green and environment friendly.

Pic: This sign board is on Leleuvia Beach as you get off the jetty. It is simply reminding visitors that plastic bags are banned on the island.

The island resort also preserves and promotes the Fijian Culture and this is evident as all houses are bures and the lifestyle here is showcased in the most Fijian way possible. They even have an art gallery that exhibits paintings and clay pots done by the locals. During the day we also managed to check out the Uto Ni Yalo that was berth at least 300 metres off shore. We were taught how to tie knots and how to survive on board the Fijian Vaka. Today has taught me to value the richness of our tradition and culture. We must go back to the roots as the roots usually have the solution to our problems and could definitely help us mitigate and adapt to climate change.

Pic: Learning how to tie the knots on board the Uto Ni Yalo.

We ended the day snorkelling. We were looking at the healthy marine life that the Island has, just because they look after it properly. The banning of plastic bags on the island has made a huge different and I hope that as Fiji implements this new 10 cents levy on plastic bag they could look past those narrow vision and think about the environment. When I usually go on Facebook, I see people disagreeing to this policy. They say they are being robbed daylight. I understand where they are coming from but I hope they understand that this little policy is an investment into your future Athaliah. I have learnt some much Athaliah in just one day. I am doing this for you. I will keep fighting for you Athaliah! Much Love Uncle Abel


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page